Turkey map cities

Major cities in Turkey map. Turkey map cities (Western Asia - Asia) to print. Turkey map cities (Western Asia - Asia) to download. By far, the largest city in Turkey is Istanbul with approximately 13.82 million inhabitants, nearly 20% of the entire Turkish population as its shown in Turkey map cities. This city, located between the Black and Mediterranean Seas, is considered the economic, historical, and cultural center of the country. The population size grows at 3.45%, a rate faster than the national average, due to a large influx of immigrants. The second largest city is Ankara where 4.47 million people reside. Half of the population is under 30 years old and hold the highest levels of education in the country. Ankara’s urban area has grown in much the same way as Istanbul, with rural inhabitants coming in search of jobs.

Major cities in Turkey map

printPrint system_update_altDownload
Izmir, with a population of 2.83 million, is the third most populated city in Turkey. During the 1960 and 1970, lack of government investment in rural areas surrounding the city resulted in a large migration to Izmir. Today, the city continues to grow. Approximately 2,500 Jewish individuals call this city home, the second largest population in the country as its mentioned in Turkey map cities. There is also a significant percentage of people of Italian, French, and Venetian descent. Bursa has an area of 11,043 km2 and a population of 3,187,000 (2010 est). It was 2,125,140 according to the 2000 census. In 1990 it had a population of 1,603,137.
Provinces usually bear the same name as their provincial capitals, also called the central district; exceptions to this custom are the provinces of Hatay (capital: Antakya), Kocaeli (capital: İzmit) and Sakarya (capital: Adapazarı). Provinces with the largest populations are Istanbul (13 million), Ankara (5 million), İzmir (4 million), Bursa (3 million) and Adana (2 million) as you can see in Turkey map cities. The biggest city and the pre-Republican capital Istanbul is the financial, economic and cultural heart of the country. An estimated 75.5% of Turkey population live in urban centers. In all, 19 provinces have populations that exceed 1 million inhabitants, and 20 provinces have populations between 1 million and 500,000 inhabitants. Only two provinces have populations less than 100,000.
Turkey Cities as its shown in Turkey map cities are: Adana, Adapazari, Adiyaman, Afyon, Amasya, Ankara (Angora), Antalya, Antioch, Artvin, Batumi, Bodrum, Bursa, Cankiri, Carsamba, Corum, Denizli, Diyarbakir, Edime, Eregli, Erzincan, Erzurum, Eskisebir, Gaziantep, Gazipasa, Inebolu, Isparta, Istanbul (Constantinople), Izmir (Smyrna), Izmit, Karabuk, Karakose, Karaman, Kastamonu, Kayseri, Kesan, Kirikkale, Kirklareli, Konya, Kurtalan, Kutahya, Malatya, Manisa, Mardin, Marmaris, Mersin, Mus, Nigde, Ordu, Samsun, Silifke, Sinop, Sivas, Tarsus, Tatvan, Tekirdag, Tokat, Trabzon, Uskudar, Van and Zonguldak.